Fort Mojave Indian Tribe to swear in three incumbent Tribal Council members Saturday

Published by The Bee News

June 5, 2019

Reading Time: ( Word Count: )

Needles, CA, June 8, 2019—A swearing in ceremony for newly elected Fort Mojave Tribal Council members will be held Saturday, June 8th at 9:00 a.m. in the tribal council chambers.  The Fort Mojave Indian Tribe re-elected the three incumbent council members at an election held June 1st.

With voter turnout the highest in recent memory, over 50% of eligible tribal voters cast ballots.  Elected to a fourth term, Timothy Williams will remain Tribal Council Chairman for the next four years, a position he has held since 2007.  Joining him will be incumbent council member Nichole Garcia and incumbent council member Cellina Reyes. The council members were elected to three separate four-year terms.

Williams was first elected following service as a United States Marine and after completing his undergraduate education at Northern Arizona University.  Williams also holds a Master’s degree in Legal Studies in Indigenous Law from the University of Oklahoma and is now pursuing his doctorate in Organizational Change and Leadership from the University of Southern California.

Nichole Garcia was elected to her fourth term as council member, a position she has held since 2004.  She also serves as School Administrator for the tribe’s high school, Pillar Academy of Business & Finance, Aha Macav School Campus.  She began her career in tribal education in 1998.

Cellina Reyes enters her first elected term as council member after having filled the council seat vacated in 2017 by the death of another council member.  She is also director of the Fort Mojave Vocational Rehabilitation Program. Ms. Reyes completed her undergraduate studies at Rocky Mountain College with a Bachelor of Science in Psychology and minor in Native American Studies.  She also holds a Master’s Degree in Human Relations in Education from NAU and is pursuing a doctorate in Special Education at Walden University.

The re-elected council members will join Vice-Chairman Shan Lewis, Council Secretary Colleen Garcia, and fellow council members Norvin McCord, Sr. and Johnny Ray Hemmers on the Fort Mojave Tribal Council.

Following the ceremony, the tribal council and tribal membership will enjoy a community breakfast.

For more information about the swearing in ceremony, please contact the Fort Mojave Public Relations Department at (760) 629-4591 or e-mail

You May Also Like…


Submit a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Your Cart
Your cart is empty.

Discover more from The Buzz -The buzz in Bullhead City - Lake Havasu City - Kingman - Arizona - California - Nevada

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading