Center for the Future of Arizona Seeks Nominations for the 2023 Gabe Zimmerman Public Service Awards

Published by The Bee News

March 28, 2023

Reading Time: ( Word Count: )

(PHOENIX) — Center for the Future of Arizona (CFA) has opened the nomination window for the 2023 Gabe Zimmerman Public Service Awards, an annual recognition of the important work being done by dedicated, non-elected public servants across the state. Award recipients will be honored during the summer conference for the Arizona City/County Management Association (ACMA) in Tucson in July. 

The Gabe Zimmerman Public Service Awards, named after the Community Outreach Director who lost his life at a “Congress on Your Corner” event for Arizona Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords, is a cooperative effort between CFA, the Zimmerman family, and ACMA to highlight the contributions public servants make to the communities they serve. Award recipients are honored in three categories: 

  • Community Builder Award (Large City/Town & Small City/Town). Recognizes leaders who have been instrumental in advancing community pride and connectedness. 
  • Emerging Leader Award. Recognizes early-stage leaders who serve as role models for improving civic health and community connections among constituents. 
  • Civic Leader Award. Recognizes exceptional civic leaders who have committed most of their careers to supporting local communities and addressing the state’s long-term challenges. 
As an organization that understands the vital importance of civic engagement and leadership in achieving a brighter future for Arizona, CFA deeply appreciates the opportunity to learn about and recognize the great work being done by public servants across the state’s diverse communities with this annual recognition.
Public servants who are eligible for the awards include those who are employed by cities and towns, counties, special districts, agencies of the executive and legislative branches of state government, tribal governments, and personal staff working for members of Arizona’s congressional delegation.  
The deadline to submit nominations is Friday, April 21. All nominations will be reviewed by the statewide Awards Selection Committee, and selected recipients will be notified in June. The awards will be presented during a luncheon on July 13 at the ACMA Summer Conference in Tucson. Awardees and their nominators will be encouraged to attend. Luncheon sponsorship opportunities are available.  
To learn more about the criteria for the awards and to nominate a non-elected public servant for recognition, visit 

About Center for the Future of Arizona 
Center for the Future of Arizona is a nonprofit, nonpartisan “do-tank” that brings Arizonans together to create a stronger and brighter future for our state. Through survey research & reports, Arizona Progress Meters, and impact initiatives & programs, CFA listens to Arizonans to learn what matters most to them, shares trusted data about how Arizona is doing in those priority areas, brings critical issues to public attention, and works with communities and leaders to solve public problems. CFA leads impact initiatives and programs across the state and has deep and ongoing engagement in education, workforce development, and civic health, recognizing how essential these are to advancing economic prosperity, quality of life, and opportunity for all. Learn more at

You May Also Like…


Submit a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from The Buzz -The buzz in Bullhead City - Lake Havasu City - Kingman - Arizona - California - Nevada

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading