Vice Mayor helps honor society induct 50 new members at MCC Kingman campus

Published by The Bee News

November 21, 2023

Reading Time: ( Word Count: )

MOHAVE COUNTY – Mohave Community College Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society – Alpha Chi Omega chapter hosted an induction ceremony at the Kingman Campus Thursday for new members for Fall 2023. 

Fifty new PTK members were inducted: Marijane Acosta, Martha Aguilar, Timothy Alexander, Emanuel Anaya, Sarah Appleby, Charis Athens, Ethan Atkins, Ivan Avalos, Gianna Baca Thompson, Luciano Baca Thompson, Wesly Ballard, Jason Barnes, Cody Batt, Elizabeth Benson, Aaron Buczak, Katie Burkes, Jimmy Burr, Daniela Cardenas, Ignacio Chavez Becerra, Natalie Cook, Britany Fitzgerald, Star Gay, Kelsie Gravell, Grace Greer, Kristine Henderson, Colton Holt, Krystal Howard, Dalton Humbers, Mikayla Humke, Amber Jackson, Karen Jones, Roxie Joslin, Mekayla Lancaster, Breann Latimer, Michelle Leland, Shelly Mangold, Tracy McKune, Carolina Meza, Logan Miller, Abigail Noble, Makena Padrick Wilder, Yug Patel, Martie Plaunty, Quinn Reaves, Malorie Reid, Ocean Robson, Jennifer Szukala, Rebekah Tomasini, April Twitchell, and Kc Wenerstrom. 

“We had a record of 50 new members joining our chapter of PTK. I’m so excited to see what ideas they bring to the group, and the activities and outreach events they have planned” said John Hansen, PTK advisor. 

Students are invited to join Phi Theta Kappa if they have achieved a cumulative 3.5 GPA and earned 12 credit hours, or if they are in a certificate program and have earned 6 credit hours. 

MCC President Dr. Stacy Klippenstein officially opened the ceremony by welcoming all of the new members and guests. He said that the college is extremely proud of its continued dedication to academic success and spoke to how PTK is a catalyst for excellence. 

Other MCC administration in attendance included Dr. Tim Culver, Executive Vice President, and Dr. Tonya Jackson, Associate Dean of Instruction – Kingman Campus. 

Cherish Sammeli, Vice Mayor of Kingman, was the guest speaker and shared an inspiring message on overcoming adversity.  

Sammeli said they represented the best and brightest of Kingman, and reminded students that they are all beacons of light in the community. 

Advisors are John Hansen, English faculty, and Janice Tubbs, institutional research. Officers include President, Robert Gale; Vice President of Leadership, Cody Price; Vice President of Fellowship, Fiona Pedi; Vice President of Scholarship, Michael Hiller; Vice President of Public Relations, Lisa Sanchez; and Secretary, Debbie McKee. 

Before the newly minted members took the official oath, an overview of the PTK symbol was explained. 

“Across the slab, you will observe a black band. It represents the three ideals which bind us together, and the cultural self-control which is the necessary foundation for true wisdom, aspiration, and purity,” Gale said. 

After the inductees signed the record book, received a white rose, and a candle, advisor Tubbs closed the ceremony. 

“We encourage you all to become active members of PTK. This will help you reach your full potential and allow you to grow as an individual,” she said. 

Phi Theta Kappa’s mission is to recognize and encourage scholarships among two-year college students by providing an opportunity for leadership, service, and development. 

MCC is now enrolling for the 2024 Spring and Summer semesters. Spring classes begin January 8 and Summer classes begin May 28. Apply for free at

You May Also Like…

Today is National Road Trip Day

Today is National Road Trip Day

Photo of 2022 Kingman Arizona Celebration with the Founder of National Day Calendar Today, we celebrate National Road...


Your Cart
Your cart is empty.

Discover more from The Buzz -The buzz in Bullhead City - Lake Havasu City - Kingman - Arizona - California - Nevada

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading